Blackout

I was in the bathroom when the light went out.
It was 10 am and it’s the beginning of summer,
I did not need the light to find doorknob.
Now I’m wondering why I turned the light on to begin with.

When I moved to the living room with all its light,
I realised that the electricity is out because I could not check my instagram feed.
Thought it was a problem with the security thing,
you know, the thing you can switch off to turn off the electricity in the house for safety.
It wasn’t.

So I started waiting.
Until the conversations outside the window confirm my suspicion;
It’s everywhere.
Well, not literally, I think it’s the same thing with the Great Flood;
it is what we understand as everywhere that is experiencing this blackout.

ATMs are not working, I see people taking a peek at the machine and turn away dejectedly.
Then I realise that I hear more conversations than traffic; it’s been a while
since I hear impatient honking. I can hear no trams passing by. The traffic just moves, the traffic lights are off.

Things seems to be progressing nicely, but for how long?
A perverse part of me is wondering, what if this blackout never ends?
Civilisation is very fickle.

2 thoughts on “Blackout

  1. Hi I’m Shreya!
    Love the post. You have great content on your blog. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.
    I am relatively new to the blogging forum so please feel free to visit my blog and leave some feedback if you even find the time.
    Enjoy your summer.
    Smiles,
    Shreya xx

    1. Hi! Welcome to the community, thanks for stopping by.. I believeI will take you up on the offer to see around your blog.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

