Exploration: Rome

Yes, I finally went to Rome!

It has always been part of my obsession since I read a comic depicting the life of Julius Caesar, or became aware of the genius that is Leonardo Da Vinci, and inflamed even further when I started reading Angels and Demons by Dan Brown. But also equally important, is my love of old cities. The idea that people have been walking on the road I’m walking for hundred or thousands of years gets to me. The idea that I’m seeing something great built centuries ago, with a completely different set of technology, amazes me. Rome constantly amazed me during my travel there.

I spent two days in Rome. It was not enough. I should return. With the help of a friend who’s really good at arranging itineraries, I visited almost all notable places in Rome: Piazza Navona, Colosseum, Foro Romano, Vatican, Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Castel Sant’ Angelo, etc. I did not get to visit any museum. Nor any market. That I really regret.

So…Rome. Impressions? Not as organized or neat as the Netherlands, but uniquely beautiful. It’s full of surprises. It’s even beautiful in a miserable weather. What I found out was that Rome is beautiful, the sun only accentuates its beauty. Definitely recommended, ciao!

Leave a Reply

