Photos from an Old Trip I: Enarotali, Waghete and Keniyapa

I went to Enarotali, Paniai Regency in April 2011 for my thesis research. Enarotali is a small city in the highlands of Papua, where my tribe, the Mee people originate from. Not from Enarotali per se, but from places surrounding Enarotali.

The first glimpse of Paniai Lake
Before arriving, this is my first glimpse of what then becomes a home for 2 weeks of my life
Another Glimpse of Paniai, or what they in early 20th century called Wisselmeren

On arrival, there is basically one single comment: beautiful. Being from this place, knowing that my village is not so far away now is a very welcoming feeling. Unfortunately I can not exactly say that I’m a local; since I’m not one of the people around the airport, screaming and chatting in words that I know are Meemana (Mee language) yet I can not understand.

Here are some pictures I gathered during my stay there. Unfortunately I don’t have other documentations, I didn’t really go around. Not until April 30, 2011 which are they day on which most of the photos below are taken. Due to my limited ability with imaging softwares, I can say that all these pictures are not engineered except for being resized.

In Enarotali I stayed in Uwoowiyago, an old house left from the C&MA Mission in the 60s I think. This is a view of Enarotali and Paniai Lake as seen from Uwoowiyago.

As the best form of entertainment, some members of my extended family took me for a look around Enarotali.  Using a car this means a trip to Tigi Lake, another Lake located Southeast from Paniai Lake and Enarotali.

Another picture of Keniyapa, with the traditional fences around private gardens
Waghete, the capital of the new Deiyai Regency, is building it’s own airport, and it’s own airstrip.
The main building of the to-be airport in Waghete

I’m worse with pictures then I am with words. But Paniai is naturally beautiful, and I hope that the beauty will be more than enough to make up for that.

2 thoughts on “Photos from an Old Trip I: Enarotali, Waghete and Keniyapa

Leave a Reply

